Board of Directors

Dr. A.R. Karunaratna
Chairman / Independent Non Executive Director

Appointed to the Board on 19th January 2012. Holds a PhD from the University of Sydney N.S.W., Australia, MCom from Bond University, Gold Coast, Qld. Australia, MBA from the University of Adelaide, S.A., Australia, BSc. (Hons), from Flinders University, S.A, Australia.

Currently an Associate Professor (Adjunct), School of Business, University of Adelaide, S.A. Australia, CEO of Breakthrough Business Intelligence, Colombo and Part- Time Faculty at the Post Graduate Institute of Management, Colombo, Sri Lanka.

He has publications in international journals, presented papers in international conferences and 25 years teaching experience at Undergraduate and Post Graduate levels and extensive consulting experience.

K.R.B. Wijeyeratne
Managing Director / Executive Director

Appointed to the Board on 28th July 1995. He has over 26 years experience in the Finance Industry.

  • Honorary Consul of France in Sri Lanka.
  • Holds a BA (Economics & Math Degree from Oxford University, UK and Kenyon College, USA.
  • He has been serving as an Executive Committee Member of the Finance Houses Association of Sri Lanka, the representative body of licensed Finance Companies of Sri Lanka since 1997.
  • Member and former Director of the Leasing Association of Sri Lanka, a body representing Banks and Financial Institutions engaged in the activity of Finance and Operational Leasing in Sri Lanka.
  • Board Member, GVR Lanka (Pvt) Ltd., Developers of Dynasty Residence.
  • Former Chairman of Sinhaputhra Finance PLC.
  • Former Director Kandy Hotels Corporation (1938) the owning company of Queens Hotel and Suisse Hotel, Kandy.
  • Former Director of Sinhaputhra Computers, Traders and Securities
  • He counts over 25 years of Audit, Banking and Finance experience with Ernst & Whinney, Kandy, Sri Lanka, Credit Lyonnais, NYC, USA and Sinhaputhra Finance PLC, Sri Lanka.
  • K.G.D.S.J. De Alwis
    Executive Director

    Appointed to the Board on 1st August 2009. Holds 27 years experience in the field of Finance. He is a Member of Institute of Business Management.Former Director of Sinhaputhra Traders.

    E.A.D.P. Ekanayake
    Independent Non Executive Director

    Appointed to the Board on 29th December 2011. A reputed Entrepreneur, Chief Executive Officer of Huluganga Trading Company from 1987 to 1999 and Ekra Constructions Company from 1983 to 2001, Committee Member of Cancer Treatment Centre - Kandy and a noted Philanthropist. Counts nearly 37 years of experience as an Entrepreneur.

    T.M.S. Bulankulame
    Independent Non Executive Director

  • B.Sc. Accounting and Business Administration with a concentration in Finance (Dominican University, USA)
  • CMA Canada (Certified Management Accountants of Canada)
  • Certification in Commodity Trading – Chicago Board of Trade, USA (1998)
  • CIM UK (Chartered Institute of Marketing, UK - Completing Dec 2016)
  • Tiranjan brings more than 14 years of experience in the financial markets and business accounting expertise in U.S.A, Canada and in the Asia Pacific region including Sri Lanka.

    Senior Consultants to the Board

    K.H.K. Wijayadasa
    Senior Consultant-Finance

    Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka. Former Chairman of Sinhaputhra Finance PLC. He has over 35 years management experience in the field of Finance in Sri Lanka and overseas.

    A.M.G. Weerakoon
    Senior Consultant-Legal

    President's Counsel. One of former Directors of Sinhaputhra Finance PLC. Member of Legal Panels of leading banks. He has over 32 years experience in the legal field.

    Sinhaputhra Finance PLC,
    No.11, Hill Street
    Kandy, Sri Lanka.
    Tel - 081 555 5555
    Fax - 081-220 3403
    E-Mail -